Saturday, 30 June 2018

Upcoming Release Book Review: The Perfect Friend by Barbara Copperthwaite


About the Book





THE PERFECT FRIEND 
by Barbara Copperthwaite
releases 5 July, 2018

She’ll do anything for you…

My name is Alex, and my world has been shattered.
My husband has left me.
My children won’t speak to me.
My friend Carrie is the only person I have.
She’s the only one I can trust to keep all my secrets.
She’d never do anything to let me down.
Would she?

This dark, gripping psychological thriller will have you holding your breath until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Sometimes I Lie, and The Girl on the Train will be captivated.


My Thoughts

“We all have locked boxes inside us that only certain people get the keys to”

From the beginning of Barbara Copperthwaite’s THE PERFECT FRIEND, there is a premonition that we are not being told the entire story, and the book’s narrators certainly show their version of events is not always reliable the further into the story we proceed.

Alex, a recovering anorexic and Carrie, a cancer sufferer, meet at a support group. Their friendship intensifies rapidly; Carrie is terminally ill and Alex is determined to help Carrie while she is alive as atonement for past transgressions.

Copperthwaite’s writing is engaging and pulled me into the story immediately. I found the story well paced; there are many twists and turns and while I think some of the secrets were obvious, it didn’t take away from impact these revelations had at the time they were disclosed in the book.


THE PERFECT FRIEND is the first Barbara Copperthwaite book I have read and I definitely plan to check out her other books. 


About the Author

Barbara Copperthwaite the Amazon, Kobo, and USA Today best-selling author of psychological crime thrillers INVISIBLE, FLOWERS FOR THE DEAD, THE DARKEST LIES, and HER LAST SECRET. More importantly, I love cakes, wildlife photography, and my two dogs, Scamp and Buddy (who force me to throw tennis balls for them for hours).
Having spent over twenty years as a national newspaper and magazine journalist, I've interviewed the real victims of crime - and also those who have carried those crimes out. I'm fascinated by creating realistic, complex characters, and taking them apart before the readers' eyes in order to discover just how much it takes to push a person over a line. 




No comments:

Post a Comment

Book Review: CODE OF CONDUCT by April White

“ Sharp writing, layered characters, and wonderful tension flow through this book, along with a super-swoon-worthy hero and a kick ass ...