Book Review: Baker’s Dozen by Wendy Smith

About the Book

Owen Campbell is more than the town baker—he’s also the player out of all the Campbell boys. A tragic accident brings a secret to light that turns his world on its head and forces him to reconsider his lifestyle.

Ginny Robinson is alone, and that’s the way she likes it. While she loves teaching, the circumstances of her employment leave her thinking about leaving town. Until she meets Owen.

When Owen asks her to move in, Ginny’s afraid it’s for all the wrong reasons.

Can he work out what the right reasons are?

The third book in the Copper Creek series continues the story of the Campbell family.

My Thoughts

Baker’s Dozen is Book 3 in the Wendy Smith’s Copper Creek series. This book features Owen Campbell, baker extraordinaire and Ginny, a local school teacher.

The book is well plotted and it’s easy to follow. I liked the writing style. It’s nicely paced and there’s a relaxed feel about it that is reminiscent of my knowledge of New Zealanders. I liked that the setting and characters live everyday lives; No one’s a billionaire ready to throw piles of money at a problem. And I liked the small town feel and it would have been nice to know more about the town and its inhabitants in general.  The sexy moments are at times descriptive but not overly steamy.

Owen Campbell is a man-whore. His reputation precedes him and this causes problems when he falls for Ginny. Ginny, is also attracted to Owen but she has her own issues to contend with in addition to people around her continuously telling her Owen will never stick around. Even though there were a few wobbly moments, I liked than neither Owen nor Ginny played games. They were honest and communicated with each other.

The book is set over several months so we get to see Owen and Ginny as they tackle individual issues they both need to address and we also get to see them grow as couple.

I did feel the continuing story of Drew & Hayley (Copper Creek Book 2) was an intrusion. While Owen and Ginny’s story can be read as a standalone, at least 3 chapters in this book are told from Drew’s point of view and the focus is on him and Hayley. This more than likely appeals to readers of the previous books in the series but as a first time reader, I felt like I was missing out.  

About the Author

Wendy Smith published as Ariadne Wayne for 3 years before deciding she didn’t want to be someone else all the time. Heavily influenced by stories in the media, she decided to try something new, and the Copper Creek series was born. With lots of love and a touch of darkness, her stories will twist their way into your heart.